Spearo section

Section for the discussion of fishing in the water, be it scuba or free-diving
kayak chris
Kayak Make: ocean Kayak
Kayak Model: Prowler Ultra
VHF Call Sign: ZMT8810

Tue Jan 05, 2010 9:31 am

Hey we have a spearo section now :D

Well ill start it off, Im just getting into spear fishin from a yak, have picked up gear from both Ocean Hunter and Wild Blue, and managed to get out for a few dives over the christmas / new year period.
I decided to leave the spear at home and just get used to the diving part.
First dive out, with my brother in law, I went down, flattend off on the bottom, and noticed that I had come down right ontop of the largest ray I have ever seen which was just sitting nested on the sand, it must have been close to 2m wing to wing and my face was about 10com from it.
Naturally I began surfacing pretty sharply (I belive its called crapping yourself), but on the way up My brother in law went down, and even though I was pointing at it and trying to tell him not to do it, he took that to mean, hey go check that out.
He came up quicker than I din when he realised what I was pointing at, and the funnyest thing happend, he caught a glimpse of his own fin in the water and thought this thing was coming to get him, the sheer paninc on his face as he swam as fast as he could away from his own fin was priceless.
On the later dives I managed a few feeds of mussles, and saw plent of good sized snapper.
Next trip out Ill be taking the spear, and probably heading somewhere around aucks with Akcyu if anyone wants to join us.

Kayaks-
Ocean Kayak Prowler Ultra 4.7, Ocean Kayak Prowler Ultra 4.3, Tahe Greenlander T, Mission Eco Bezhig, Perception Expedition, Bliss-Stick Flip Stick

Jigheads Paddling and Fishing team member,
Come visit us on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/Jigheadspaddlingandfishing" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

yakman
Kayak Make: Cobra
Kayak Model: Marauder

Tue Jan 05, 2010 10:04 am