what safety gear will i need?

The Taranaki Kayak Fishing Club forum for club and member discussions
wherearethey?
Kayak Make: skull sniper

Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:30 pm

As a newbie i need some info & i believe help to purchase the right gear that i "think" i need. So a UHF radio? I know there are 100s of them but what would suit my interests with the shoreline in sight! do i need flares etc. These are safety items but if ive missed one or two let me know, getting ready for summer!!

HookiT
Kayak Make: Viking
Kayak Model: PRO 400 LITE
VHF Call Sign: ZMQ4712

Wed Jun 08, 2016 5:39 pm

First in line is a good buoyancy aid, work from that point. then a very good contact device.

secala
Kayak Make: Ocean Kayak
Kayak Model: Ultra 4.7
VHF Call Sign: ZMT7766

Wed Jun 08, 2016 7:12 pm

from a comms point of view a good IP rated VHF is a must. need to consider that when you are really in the s**t you are not likely to be comfortably sitting on your upright yak on a calm sea with all the time in the world! having been in a few curly situations I discount a cellphone (even in a waterproof case) as a suitable comms backup in these cases, but better than nothing. as soon as you can afford it, look at a PLB. every yakker should be striving for this option, imo. flares are much cheaper alternative in the interim with inherent limitations and deployment issues if in the water!
when I first started out yakking, having had a marine background and deep respect for the ocean, I focussed a great deal on safety comms. i kitted up with flares (parachute, hand and smoke), sea dye, helix mirror, wolf whistle, a drogue, very good vhf and i had my cellphone in a waterproof case. a bit OTT i guess, but a little respect doesn't hurt. I have now ditched most of these in favour of a PLB and VHF unless i'm going a long way off shore. PM me if you want more info on this important topic.
Ocean Kayak 4.7 Ultra
Viking 400

MikeAqua
Kayak Make: Viking
Kayak Model: Profish 400
VHF Call Sign: ZMT-7387