Wattle Downs Pahurehure Inlet

Auckland region discussions, for local trips, meetings etc.
LittleFella
Kayak Make: Ocean Kayak
Kayak Model: Prowler 13

Fri Dec 05, 2014 5:06 pm

Hi, a noob here, just recently started getting in to kayak fishing with my Prowler13 and loving it.
I live out Wattle Downs way and would like go kayaking/fishing around Pahurehure inlet and surroundings Manukau harbour.
I am bit worried about the current and big tidal movements there though.
Can any one here give some advice on kayaking and fishing in Pahurehure inlet and surroundings. Even better is there any one I can go out kayaking with in Manukau harbour to gain some confidence.

I have only been out to calmer waters of Maraetai (tamaki strait) on the east coast few (10-12) times.
Any advice or invites to get this noob seasoned will be much appreciated .. :)

cheers

Schecter
Kayak Make: Viking
Kayak Model: Profish EVO IV
VHF Call Sign: ZMW8098

Fri Dec 05, 2014 6:00 pm

Hey Little fella.

I use to fish in the Pahurehure inlet when I first started. Fishing near Shark island is where I catch my pannie snapper, although the area is a shark and skate habitat! :worried: The current is strong and the fishing window seems short because the incoming tide will push you to Conifer grove, and the outgoing will pull you out to Clarks beach - fishing around the slack tide is ideal. You'll also have to contend with the foul around the Weymouth inlet that'll snag your line, and the oyster bed below that can cut your line.

So overall not a lot of positives in the Pahurehure inlet/Manukau harbour for kayak fishing, but the harbour is abuzz with kahawai and mullet during the winter months.

There are a few of us that live in or near Wattle downs. Have fun and welcome to the addictive world of kayak fishing. :y:
Viking Tempo
Viking Profish 440

PB: Snapper=79cm. Rogers Road, 26/10/14

PB: Gurnard=34cm. Orere Point, 17/06/15

PB: Kingfish=75cm. Omaio, 13/02/16