Soft baiting while anchored

Discuss fishing tackle, methods, and kayak fishing accessories here.
Kayak Kev
Kayak Make: Ocean Kayak/Torpedo 7
Kayak Model: Cruise 278

Thu Nov 08, 2018 8:43 am

Hi everyone newbie here - kitted out a basic 2.78 Torpedo Cruise and been out off Narrowneck a couple of times - learning what to do and what not to do. (ie don't open hatch and then forget to lock it again, then realise the Kayak is suddenly very heavy and full of water!
Anyway my query is around fixed anchoring and whether soft baiting still works?
Haven't been brave enough to actually use the anchor yet apart from using it folded up as a dead weight. Trolley system works ok. Reading a lot about drift chutes but surely in the current it wouldn't work to slow me down much? More effective against wind (which I'll be trying to avoid). Could be wrong.
Having lots of fun soft baiting but seem to move very quick from either left to right or right to left (depending if incoming or outgoing tide).
If I fix my anchor can I still soft bait or does the 'you have to be drifting for soft baiting to work' apply?
Any thoughts/suggestions appreciated.
Cheers, Kev

AndrewRawlingson

Thu Nov 08, 2018 11:43 am

You can fish softies at anchor, especially in a burley trail, but one of the big advantages of this style of fishing is that you cover ground and hunt the fish down. At a guess, 99% of soft bait fishing is done on the drift.

Hairy Little Dwarf
Kayak Make: Phoenix
Kayak Model: Hornet

Thu Nov 08, 2018 3:30 pm

Throwing a drogue out slows the drift in windy conditions, but if wind and tide are going the same way...
I often use a drogue when wind against tide, at times not moving 50m over an hour, other times going in a wide 200m circle as various current come and go.