Spooling TLD15

Discuss fishing tackle, methods, and kayak fishing accessories here.
Post Reply
Smudger.aws
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Apr 16, 2016 10:27 pm
Kayak Make: Viking
Kayak Model: Reload
Location: Dorcland

Fri Oct 06, 2017 2:42 pm

I'm just about to get a TLD15 to use for our upcoming Milford Sound trip (and after that as my trolling rig) and I have 300m of 14kg Exceed braid to put on it....any suggestions as to how much and what weight mono I should use as backing so the braid fills the reel nicely? In the past I've always had two identical reels/spools so I would wind on the braid first, then overlay with mono, then rewind onto the other spool/reel, but don't have that luxury this time.

User avatar
Hairy Little Dwarf
Moderator
Posts: 6881
Joined: Thu Oct 16, 2008 8:39 am
Kayak Make: Phoenix
Kayak Model: Hornet

Sat Oct 07, 2017 11:30 am

https://www.igfa.org/About/Estimating-M ... ectra.aspx

Have a crack with this one. I've found it to be pretty close with fixed spools -see no reason why a freespool would be any different.
(I don't have a line counter, so simply run the mono up and down the driveway for the required distance, cut, and wind the free line on)

As far as mono weight, I have always just matched diameter.
Image
.................... "Flying Mango"....................
Phoenix Hornet - Specialty Assault Craft

Dad! Dad! Look at his fish! It's way bigger than anything you've EVER caught! - Nosey 7-8yo boy on opening my icebox to father strapping down his $XXX Stabicraft 759(?) - Gold. Pure Gold.

Post Reply
  • Information
  • Who is online

    Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest